Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I can not shut down browsers or resart the computer  (Read 2755 times)

samfeather

I can not shut down browsers or resart the computer
« on: June 18, 2008, 04:48:49 AM »
Hi I am new at all this and seem to be having a problem, thought I would see if I can fix it myself before I pay someone else to do it. 

Ok I have Windows Vista, I was in the middle of installing something when my screen just wouldn't do any more.  I clicked on the x at the top and it will not close down.  I can still open and close other browsers but this one remains.  I tried to restart the computer and it will not restart or shut down I click on the button and nothing happens.  I did Ctrl,Alt, delete nothing. It won't shut down or close the box, it's not like it's frozen because I can still open tabs. 

I googled and found something that said to make sure my windows update had been updated, I clicked on start update and now that box won't close down.

Have no idea what to do please help!!!!

Thanks,

Sam

devlin

Rookie

• Love your PC again....Install Linux
    Re: I can not shut down browsers or resart the computer
    « Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 05:04:38 AM »
    Hi I am new at all this and seem to be having a problem, thought I would see if I can fix it myself before I pay someone else to do it. 

Ok I have Windows Vista, I was in the middle of installing something when my screen just wouldn't do any more.  I clicked on the x at the top and it will not close down.  I can still open and close other browsers but this one remains.  I tried to restart the computer and it will not restart or shut down I click on the button and nothing happens.  I did Ctrl,Alt, delete nothing. It won't shut down or close the box, it's not like it's frozen because I can still open tabs.