Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Vista will not operate  (Read 2954 times)

tiredoftypical

Vista will not operate
« on: March 05, 2009, 09:45:47 PM »
Hello all, please do not flame this thread. I am a complete newb, but all I am trying to do is seek some advice/help. I have a year old Acer Aspire 5920 Laptop with Vista installed. My computer froze one day and all of a sudden I could not restart the computer(by restart I mean get back into my profile) So I restarted a few times and now the OS is not found? Startup repair promts and says it 'could not detect a problem'
However, there is a lot of problems under the problem detail tab:

Problem event name: StartupRepairV2
Problem Signature 01: AutoFailover
Problem Signature 02: 6.0.6000.16486.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 0
Problem Signature 04: 65537
Problem Signature 05: unknown
Problem Signature 06: OsVersionMismatch
Problem Signature 07: 0
Problem Signature 08: 0
Problem Signature 09: unknown
Problem Signature 10: 1168
OS Version: 6.0.6000.1.0.0.156.1
Locale ID: 1033

I am extremely concerned because there are so many important documents and school assignments on here, and I dont understand why this happened. It was running slowly, so I'm asuming a virus, but I really need these files. I wouldn't mind loading them onto another computer or something, it's just paramount that I do not lose them.
Is there any way of say, hooking up a usb cable to my windows xp desktop and transferring the files somehow? I really have no idea.
Please if you can, help me out. Thank you in advance,
Jason

patio

• Genius
  • Maud' Dib
    • Yes
  • Experience: Beginner
Re: Vista will not operate
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 06:44:53 AM »
Grab one of these from a PC store:

2.5" to IDE connector...about 8 Bucks.
This will enable you to hook up that drive to a desktop machine to retrieve any data on it...