Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need help with Linux Mint.  (Read 3535 times)

I Shooter

Topic Starter

Hopeful

Need help with Linux Mint.
    « on: April 13, 2009, 10:25:55 AM »
    I installed Linux Mint on an old computer that had ME on it. The first problem I had was I didn't give it a password ( In Windows I never use a password.) and now it wont let me in. I plan to reload it and give it a password that I will remember. The next problem when loading the system it asked for internet information that I didn't understand. When I load Windows on a PC at the end I just put in the Earthlink disk and do as I am told. How do you set up internet in Linux Mint? As you can tell I am new to Linux and would like to learn how to use it. I know that I can get drivers from Intel to make the mother board work. Will Linux Mint play DVDs or do I have to load other programs for that. I don't know any thing about this stuff. I need all the help I can get with this stuff. Thanks for your time and information that you people give so freely.

banjo67xxx

Beginner

• Certifications: List
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Guru
      Re: Need help with Linux Mint.
      « Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 02:50:36 PM »
      a) The Linux Mint forums http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=24306&p=142114 say that you can use sudo with your oridinary user password, and then you've got 5 minutes to do what you want. So I guess you could set the root password with passwd root after using sudo

b) As for Earthlink, I've never heard of it. I presume its the name of your ISP and they gave you a setup CD. If your lucky then you've got a broadband router which that CD has already configured for you, and if you're even luckier your router is setup for DHCP.