Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Do Apple iMacs also get infected?  (Read 2819 times)

Myron

Do Apple iMacs also get infected?
« on: October 18, 2009, 09:21:21 AM »
I have been using Apple iMacs for several years at the store and I must say that I never ever had a problem with pop-up ads, viruses, freezing monitors and sites that appear on my monitor which I never typed-in. Is the Mac OS exempt from viruses? If so, how. Whenever I use Windows, I get frozen screens, viruses, slow response time, etc. Is the iMac superior? The manager of the Apple Store says that Apple iMacs have no problem with spyware or viruses.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2009, 10:15:30 AM by Myron »

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
  • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • BC-Programming.com
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
Re: Do Apple iMacs also get infected?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2009, 10:18:10 AM »
Viruses are simply less common on the Macintosh, not because it is more robust, but simply because it has less market share. If a Virus creator is going to make a virus, they want to target the 86% (or so) that are on windows based machines, rather then the 12% (or so) that are using Macintosh machines.