Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Virus scans all freezing at windows\assembly\......  (Read 2966 times)

Evus

Topic Starter

Virus scans all freezing at windows\assembly\......
    « on: November 19, 2009, 10:02:23 PM »
    Hi - this is my first time posting here so please let me know if there's more or different information that you need, and forgive me if I've made any cardinal sins in the world of computer maintenance.  Here's the story....

I have a Dell laptop with Windows Vista.  When I woke it up out of "hibernate" mode two days ago it was incredibly slow and I couldn't get anything to run without freezing the whole computer.  I tried to run AVG, but it would get part way through the scan then freeze as well.  I started the computer in Safe mode, and AVG appeared to run all the way through, but just as I caught a glimpse of the screen it had restarted the computer in regular (non-safe) mode so I don't know what, if anything, it found.  I did a system restore to a month prior to the problem, and everything worked much better except I couldn't download files from my gmail or any website, and I couldn't get AVG to open so that I could rescan the computer.  I would click but nothing happened.  I then downloaded Malwarebytes anti-malware to a USB drive and ran it on my computer from there - it stopped working at the following file:  windows\assembly\nativeimages_v20.50727_32\system.net\892f786ce756bd2e0ca400a8dae347a58\system.net.ni.dll.