Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Is there a way I could remotely control a computer?  (Read 4362 times)

Doug

Topic Starter

Intermediate

• Experience: Beginner
Is there a way I could remotely control a computer?
« on: May 07, 2010, 12:04:25 AM »
My mother went to Tx and has trouble even using email.  At work, I know the tech guys do remote stuff because sometimes I will walk by a PC and and it looks like someones using it but no ones there.  The screen and menus are moving and there's typing. 

I'm a novice with computers and I know there's remote assistance on my computer but-how could I connect to her in Tx.   

What would be a first step?  If there is a way.  What program could I look at?  What info would I need from her or my computer?

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Is there a way I could remotely control a computer?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 12:45:59 AM »
Place your mouse on a blank space on the desktop. Click it to focus out of your browser. Now hit the F1 key. This brings you the windows help page.
Look up near the top right and see these words:

Invite a friend to connect to your computer with Remote Assistance

This works with Windows XP and other recent versions of Windows. First try it with a buddy and learn how it works.

Why not just call your Mother? With the right long-distance and internet service plan it will cost you nothing for calls inside the USA.

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
  • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • BC-Programming.com
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 01:44:31 AM »
Why not just call your Mother? With the right long-distance and internet service plan it will cost you nothing for calls inside the USA.

You have evidently never had to help people perform tasks on a computer over the phone.