Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Single Threaded  (Read 4550 times)

jklangen

Topic Starter

Rookie

Single Threaded
    « on: December 16, 2015, 12:00:08 PM »
    I am new to Windows 10 Pro having just purchased a new HP Pavilion with the Intel i7 6700, 16 GB ram, Nvidea Geoforce GT 370 graphics card, 2 TB hard drive.  It's only been a few days but noticed what appears to be a somewhat single threaded nature when doing a couple of intensive things that I have not noticed on Windows 7 (old desktop) and Windows 8.1 (laptop).  When copying folders with a large amount of files in from an external drive the mouse pointer would freeze.  At times I could move it to multi task but the mouse pointer movement was erratic.  Most of the time it would not move.  Tried Alt tab and Windows key tab to move to another open window and no luck.  I am done transferring files but just wondering why that file transfer consumed Windows 10 with multiple CPUs and a ton of memory.

Pretty happy with 10 other than the Onedrive and File Manager.  MS has made it a little difficult to not use the Onedrive.  I don't trust the cloud having been an IT data center manager and knowing the lack of SLA's in years past.  I want my own external drives to backup on that I can unplug and keep safe. 

Regards,
    Jim

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Single Threaded
    « Reply #1 on: December 16, 2015, 01:05:03 PM »
    Well... I have no ides. Because 10 is the newest, you would think it the greatest and bestest windows ever. Apparently not.
    Possible relevance:
    Best Tools for Copying a Large Number of Files in Windows