Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Stereo help  (Read 4453 times)

3rdGenGator

Stereo help
« on: September 22, 2004, 09:19:04 AM »
I am a computer novice working on my home after it was partly destroyed by Hurricane Charley.  I want to play music from my home Computer (a Dell desktop) through my home stereo system.  How do I connet the computer to the stereo?  The stereo has the typical dual plug inputs for aux. inputs, what type of connectors and cable to I need?  Do I need anything else?

Computer_Commando

Re: Stereo help
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2004, 06:53:36 PM »
On your computer:  there should be several audio mini-jacks: line-in, mic, out (speaker)

out (speaker) to stereo aux-in should work for you.  Since most computer speakers are powered (amplified), the sound out is a low level out.

It looks like this, but longer:  http://www.mpja.com/productview.asp?product=11423+AC
« Last Edit: September 22, 2004, 06:58:39 PM by Computer_Commando »

3rdGenGator

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2004, 08:44:23 AM »
Thanks Commando!  By the way, I may have a run of up to 70 feed, do you think the output from the computer will be strong enough for that?

Computer_Commando

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2004, 02:49:31 PM »
Output level should be more than sufficient.  I'd be more concerned about noise pickup from the long run.  You'll just have to try it and see if it works.  I use an old boombox do the same thing, but length is only about 8ft.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2004, 02:49:49 PM by Computer_Commando »

MalikTous

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2004, 03:57:45 PM »