Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: suggestions for a new motherboard  (Read 3860 times)

FreakaBoo9

suggestions for a new motherboard
« on: October 11, 2004, 02:00:41 PM »
I'm a computer graphics student...and have been slowly upgrading my computer and I need a new motherboard/processor.  

Right now My computer has:

Asus p4t motherboard
pentium4 1.4ghz processor
1gig of ram
an ati All in wonder 9700 pro card

Also...Right now I dont have enough slots on my motherboard for all the drives I have.  
I just bought a new harddrive and a dvd burner...
I also have a zip drive and my original cd burner, and my old harddrive.  I can only have 4 or 5 drives connected.  

Also, I think i still want a pentium processor...but I'm open to suggestions

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: suggestions for a new motherboard
    « Reply #1 on: October 11, 2004, 02:33:38 PM »
    FreakaBoo9.....How many IDE devices do you currently have installed ? Sounds like one hard drive and one cd-rw and you wish to add one new hard drive and one new cd/dvd burner......is that correct?  so far so good.....now your zip drive ..is it a USB connection ?
    This configuration should work with your original mobo.
    How many pci slots do you require? You should decide what you want to use for a processor and then the rest of your questions will be answered. Most of the new mobo have at least 5 0r 6 pci slots as well as 1 agp and I believe a wireless slot .

hope this is some help

dl65  ::)
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

FreakaBoo9

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2004, 02:45:17 PM »
    I added the new harddrive and burner....the zip drive is internal....everthing is internal...basically i have 5 devices...and two slots to put them in...two devices to a cable...leaves me one space short of connecting all my drives.