Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: totally new to networking  (Read 3802 times)

momuv5

totally new to networking
« on: July 20, 2007, 09:32:59 AM »
Hi there.   I am a nursing student and a wife and mom of 5 kids.  I bought a laptop for school use in January and am just now getting around to networking it with my desktop.  I have absolutely no clue what or how to do this.  I would like to be able to move files back and forth between computers and also see what the kids are up to when they are on the computer for their own safety (yes, i'll spy - I admit it.  it's a scary world out there and my oldest is only 10!) 

Is there anyone willing to take a mom under their wing and walk me through this?? where do I even start??

I have checked out the link http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000469.htm as well but an still nervous I'll really screw something up so a mentor would be great!

Deerpark

Egghead
    Re: totally new to networking
    « Reply #1 on: July 20, 2007, 09:44:09 AM »
    I know nothing about programs to monitor the activities of your kids, except for the fact that there are a lot of monitoring programs available, so I can't help you there but I think I can help you set up that network. :)

Just to be clear, you want to share files between the two computers and both should also be able to go online as well, correct?

Also how are things connected currently? I mean how is your desktop computer connected to the internet?
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

momuv5

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2007, 01:40:47 PM »
    I have my desktop directly hooked up to the internet and my laptop through a wireless router off of my desktop.  is that what you are asking?