Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: My screen goes to background  (Read 2751 times)

chalindra

My screen goes to background
« on: January 05, 2008, 12:26:51 PM »
Hi.
I'm in need of some help. My computer does this thing where it stops working, showing 0% use of CPU, and the screen goes to background. And when I say background I mean there is no 'startline' at the bottom of the screen, and all the shortcuts saved to my background is gone.
   The weirdest thing is perhaps that I can have a program like Internet up and running, and even change websites while my computer is like this. But I have no possibility of turning off the computer normally, I have to cut the power.
   I have a Dell Inspiron 6000, and Windows XP. A few weeks ago I had some Trojan horses on my computer, and some system files where affected. There was some trouble with one of them, and a system file may have been deleted. But when I ran a test on my harddisk the computer notified me there was no problems with the system. Oh, and shortly after I was notified a Microsoft program (can't remember the name) needed to be shut down.
   I'm afraid I don't really know what's wrong with my computer or how to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Computer Hope Admin

• Administrator

• Prodigy

• Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
Re: My screen goes to background
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2008, 12:41:29 PM »
Make sure it's not simply that your taskbar containing your start button is not getting hidden by pressing CTRL and ESC on the keyboard at the same time. If done properly this should bring up the start button. If this does work. it's likely your bar is hidden.

If this doesn't work try pressing CTRL + ALT + DEL at the same time and see if any program is in "Not Responding" state and not in the Running state.