Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: copying two text files using at command  (Read 13818 times)

pkranthi

Topic Starter

Rookie

copying two text files using at command
    « on: February 04, 2008, 05:53:27 PM »
    Hi All,

I am very new to msdos programming. My requirement looks simple but I could not do it. I have to schedule a copy of tow text files every week as they are generated. Actually now I am trying to do this with two sample text files but could not do it.

The commands I am using are.

at 7:50pm copy a1.txt +a2.txt a1.txt

When I did that ti says error and when I went to the scheduler and saw the log it said some thing like this.

Unable to start task.
       The specific error is:
       0x80070002: The system cannot find the file specified.

When I do the copy with out the at command it works properly that is just this command.

copy a1.txt +a2.txt a1.txt

Please help me with this. I tried to put the same command in a batch file and tried to execute it, even then it give the same message.

Thanks,
    kranthi

Sidewinder

Guru

• Experience: Familiar
    Re: copying two text files using at command
    « Reply #1 on: February 05, 2008, 04:44:17 AM »
    The copy command runs in a window where the default directory may not be where the files are located. Best to use fully qualified file names.

Unless that's a typo, you're trying to overwrite one of the inputs with the output file.

8)

The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.

-- Albert Einstein

pkranthi

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2008, 06:14:44 AM »
      Best to use fully qualified file names.