Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Newbie here with hard drive question  (Read 3913 times)

charliebrown

Newbie here with hard drive question
« on: March 11, 2005, 07:36:33 PM »
How did I not find this forum until now-wonderful place!...I have a hard drive capacity question.  The computer is a Compaq desktop Model 5070.  It's been a workhorse for 5 years...I'll be building my own new computer next fall but will keep this one until it folds.  I do routine software and physical maintenance on it-tear it down a couple of times a year to clear out dust, etc.  Never had a hardware failure.

It has the following:

AMD K6  3D processor running at 350mhz.
280MB RAM
4 GB Hard Drive...1.8 GB free space at the moment.

Windows 98SE updated through MS Update site.
IE6

What is the largest hard drive I can get away with to replace this little 4GB job?  I'd like to add a few more programs.  Make and model recommendations are welcome.  The local COMPUSA has a couple of 20 GB drives, Seagate and Maxtor Ultra IDE, but I don't know if the motherboard and processor will handle it...no one there could tell me for sure either.

The original drive is a Seagate and has worked great, I'd just like a larger drive that's compatable with more space.

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: March 12, 2005, 09:01:36 AM by charliebrown »

wrwss

Intermediate
  • PITTSBURGH,PA.
    Re: Newbie here with hard drive question
    « Reply #1 on: March 12, 2005, 09:55:44 AM »
    I beleive that you can only use a 4 or 5 gb harddrive with that system.It is equipped with s.m.a.r.t which won't recognize a larger disc among other things
    WRWSS

charliebrown

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2005, 10:03:59 AM »
    I beleive that you can only use a 4 or 5 gb harddrive with that system.It is equipped with s.m.a.r.t which won't recognize a larger disc among other things