Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Is linux safe from trojan?  (Read 10395 times)

hannibal_lecter

Topic Starter

Rookie

Is linux safe from trojan?
    « on: September 23, 2009, 05:09:54 AM »
    Hello everyone. I am thinking to change my current os to linux ubuntu. I am just curious, can trojan, keylogger and backdoor and other malwares still affect my pc if i used linux?  Since I've heard linux is much safer os. And what is the best anti malware for linux? I am a novice for linux. Thanks in advance.

Boozu

Hopeful

• Yes
      • Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Experience: Familiar
    Re: Is linux safe from trojan?
    « Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 06:00:18 AM »
    It wont be affected by the exact same "trojan, keylogger and backdoor and other malwares" but there are still ones for linux but you will be safer especially if you are not going onto mysterious websites.
    Don't worry about it.  If it's not good at stock, then it's not good.

hannibal_lecter

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2009, 08:29:51 AM »
      Thanks for the fast reply. I am always fully aware before entering any site. Thanks for the advices. 

nate22

Beginner

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2009, 08:29:37 PM »
        Simply put Yes and No.
        You have the fact that its safER but Linux is not SAFE completely.
        Think of it from a hackers perspective, you as a hacker want to steal credit card information.
        Who are you going to target?
        Widely use windows uses? Commonly windows users are also a little less experience in computers.
        Or Linux which isn't as widely used for personal computing? Also if your a Linux user your probably at least a little knowledgeable about computers.

Hope it helps

hannibal_lecter

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2009, 01:02:12 AM »
          Thanks, nate22!

mroilfield

Mentor
            • Yes