Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Freezing on splash screen or BSOD/reboot loop, help?  (Read 3119 times)

Jilly

Topic Starter

Freezing on splash screen or BSOD/reboot loop, help?
    « on: December 05, 2009, 07:59:49 AM »
    First I'd like to apologize in advance for any mis-explaining and a long post, I'm self-taught with computer stuff and my knowledge is limited. 

I'm running XP Pro 32-bit.  My computer is about 4 years old, and was built by me.  I can provide parts model #s and such if needed but I'm not sure any of the hardware is the issue.  Everything was running okay up until a few days ago.  I had tried out "Ashampoo Burning Studio" as a free cd burning software, and it wasn't working.  So I uninstalled, rebooted and then ran an anti-spyware utility just in case.  I remembered having turned off Automatic Updates some time ago so I also went in and started to dl updates.  It was taking a while so after the first 10 or so I cancelled and it prompted me to restart to finish the updates I'd downloaded.

Upon rebooting, I can't get back into Windows.  Trying to start normally results in a BSOD with 0x0000007E as the leading error code.  Other modes hang at "Mup.sys" and then freeze on the XP splash screen indefinitely.  Some Google research led me to try a few things - disconnecting all peripherals except my monitor, dusting out the computer (which I do regularly anyway but I figured was worth a try), reseating/checking RAM, and checking other various connections.  None of these has worked and I still can't get into Windows.  From what I found it seems like other people have experienced this issue after doing something with updating, like switching to a new service pack (I can't remember if I'm on sp2 or 3, I am assuming 3).  I also recently moved, and my installation disk seems to have been lost in the shuffle.