Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Iomega zip 100 - how to unprotect  (Read 14059 times)

SR

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Iomega zip 100 - how to unprotect
    « on: April 27, 2011, 06:36:22 PM »
    Hi..

I have been using the iomega zip 100 discs since 1999. It remained my main mode of saving my work files and personal files for about 4 years. Whenever I upgraded my computer I would transfer the zip drive with it so that I could have continued access to my files. Previously when I right click on the drive there will be a password protect function. My last upgrade for that particular computer was to a Celeron processor running on Windows 98. this particular computer sits in my spare room and was not used regularly. Recently I decided to transfer all my zip drive files to an external hard disc but found that the computer failed to work.

I sent the computer for repair and upgraded the processor and Ram and OS to XP. Following that the zip drive still worked but when I right clicked, the password function is not there and I am unable to access my zip drives anymore. Zip drives that were unprotected works fine.

Can someone please help. Thanks.

quaxo

Guru
      • Yes
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Guru
    Re: Iomega zip 100 - how to unprotect
    « Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 10:01:39 AM »
    According to Iomega's website, you have to have their software installed in order to open password protected disks. Have you installed their software yet?

From their website: (I've removed some irrelevant bits)
    Read/Write Protecting Zip Disks

IomegaWare software includes a special read/write protect feature that allows you to:
        Write protect a disk through software instead of with a mechanical write-protect switch.