Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Is MS Office 2007 still any good?  (Read 9653 times)

Sforster123

Topic Starter

• Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
Is MS Office 2007 still any good?
« on: December 09, 2014, 12:30:10 PM »
Hi,

I currently don't have an office suite installed on my PC and I wanted to try MS Office. I oppose MS Office 2013 or 365, because they are no longer in the form of a CD-ROM and I will not have a secure Internet connection for about a month (I'm using PAYG data and need a copy of MS Office ASAP). I understand that the 2010 version is almost exactly the same as the 2013 version, but I cannot find any copies of MS Office 2010 that I could obtain over the next few days. However, I have found a copy of MS Office Professional 2007 in a shop (I believe it's secondhand) for £15. This seems like a good price IMO but I have little experience with MS Office (MS Word only). So, is it any good? I am interested in trying MS Publisher, by the way. Thanks! :)

Salmon Trout

Re: Is MS Office 2007 still any good?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 12:47:17 PM »
A legal copy of MS Office 2007 for £15? Go for it. The 2007 and later versions are not all that different and if you get a later version it will still read your documents created in Office 2007. H e ll , I still use Office 2003 at work.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 01:31:45 PM »
I agree. Good deal. Yes, MS support for the 2007 product has ended. But it silvery good. In fact, I still use a much older MS Office version.

For general use, a free Office suite is alright. Perhaps a friend can download one for you onto a USB drive.
Of curse, The MS Office suite is very desirable for many users.
For what it is worth, here is an article that explains the advantage.