Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: PXE over WAN, how to do this?  (Read 7546 times)

Jari

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    PXE over WAN, how to do this?
    « on: November 27, 2019, 05:06:08 AM »
    Hello Dear Helpers,         (sorry for my bad English grammar ;))

My name is Jari and I am an intern in a computer store.
    In this store we obviously build PC's en repair them for costumors.
    We also do memtest this means we test the hardware with software from USB. This takes hours and we do this overnight.

We made a PXE and tft server where we can Lan boot a PC/ Laptop and choose the memtest options like memorie test or harddisk test etc.
    We also have the option, when its finished the pc will shutdown. And we get a rapport with results, this all works in our main store.

We would like other store's of our company to be able to do the same. My question:
    Are we able to boot Pc's/ Laptops from other store's over WAN so they can use this aswell. if yes
    how do we do this.

Every store has its own database do we have to do something with this or the router?

I would like your help for any ideas, i am not a pro but i will try to understand XD

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: PXE over WAN, how to do this?
    « Reply #1 on: November 30, 2019, 12:45:21 AM »
    I would have each store having its own PXE service.

Booting a system with PXE and installing an OS to a system will be much faster on the local LAN vs through a network bridge tunnel.