Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: ibm thinkpad hardrive ?  (Read 5273 times)

givmeadvil

ibm thinkpad hardrive ?
« on: January 23, 2006, 08:40:06 PM »
hi there,  a friend asked me to look at his laptop,  to clean it up, it's a ibm thinkpad 770.  pentium 233mhz,  64 ram.  i noticed in "my computer" that it shows 3 different h drives.  (c, d, e).  c drive is a 2gb,  d drive is 2gb and e drive is 29.4mb.  yes that was mega bytes on the e drive.  i'm fairly new to laptops and not that familiar with the hardware in one so my question is i think i pulled out what had to be the hard drive and found only one.  so why are 3 showing. if there all on one can i put all three in one drive.  i'm sure i'll have this for a while so if you need to know anything else just ask and i will get the info for you.  thanks in advance.

Fed

• Sage
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: ibm thinkpad hardrive ?
    « Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 12:31:36 AM »

GX1_Man

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2006, 06:07:27 PM »
    Multiple partitionns, one hard drive. System restore software may be on one of those partitions. What do the drives conntain? Someone set it up this way.

GX1_Man

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2006, 06:08:42 PM »
    Multiple partitionns, one hard drive. System restore software may be on the small partition. What do the drives conntain? Someone set it up this way.

It is probably formatted with FAT16 which can only use 2 gig partitions and the last little bit was left over.

givmeadvil

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2006, 04:52:51 PM »
    Multiple partitionns, one hard drive. System restore software may be on the small partition. What do the drives conntain? Someone set it up this way.

It is probably formatted with FAT16 which can only use 2 gig partitions and the last little bit was left over.

c: used 1.84gb free 150mb-  it has the typical os on it and programs