Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Which Linux is best for me?  (Read 4514 times)

Klaus_J

Which Linux is best for me?
« on: February 22, 2006, 06:25:32 AM »
Hey guys,  I'm pretty new to the whole linux world... used to have unbuntu but lost it when i reformated and never really got back at it.  Anyway I want to dive back in it head first and am wondering which linux os is really the best for my purposes.  I'll mainly just be using it to surf the web and chat with friends along with writing c & c++ programs.  I'd also like to be able to host my own webpage if at all possible.   I already know html and  stuff... I just need to know how to set it up as a server.  I'd like to just have the server runnin in the background rather than dedicating my pc as a server.  If you think I should just start out with a normal desktop linux  then later move up to a more advanced linux feel free to drop the names.    I'm also kind of in the market for a cheaper/ older laptop with a p3 or greater for cheap, if i have to souly run linux thats fine by me.  If any of you know of any good sites for such a thing feel free to send it myway via computerhope.com or directly to my email: [email protected]                          
                                                                                                                                Thanks,
                                                                                                                                 Jesse Klaus

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Which Linux is best for me?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2006, 06:34:59 AM »