Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: eating up hard drive space  (Read 7271 times)

daydreamer110761

eating up hard drive space
« on: October 29, 2004, 11:20:13 AM »
funky question here - but i'm not very good with the spyware stuff - about 3 weeks ago - not sure where it came from - but ended up removing 700+ deposits of spyware, malware, etc.  along with the help of HJT logs, adaware, spybot, and avg - but they're back!

when running adaware, it comes up with about 70+ still in the puter - adaware seems to freeze while deleting these.  last night i noticed something eating up my hard drive space, i got a pop-up in the middle of a scan telling me to clean up the c drive - however nothiing was in them, and it still was full.  

I will continue on, and get it off - but in the meantime - is there some sort of freeware out there tht runs in the background and stops the malware stuff from its attack?

justin

Re: eating up hard drive space
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2004, 11:22:41 AM »

Raptor

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2004, 11:34:49 AM »
Scan for viruses, trojan horses and spyware in Safe mode.

Download the latest Microsoft (security) updates.

And never trust Justin. That program looks awfully dodgy.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2004, 11:35:12 AM by Raptor »

daydreamer110761

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2004, 11:57:29 AM »
thanx to both of you - haven't checked out justin's idea yet - and will work on this at home tonight - just figured i would ask the questions now to have something to work with later - you guys are fast!  

just one question with the microsoft updates - i really do use them - and it seems wierd - but when i take them up on the downloads is most often when it happens.

truthfully - i'm not on the puter much anymore at home (on one all day at work) except to fix it after my daughter has been somewhere -  :P

Raptor

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2004, 12:05:07 PM »