Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Building a PC out...  (Read 6423 times)

Dave666

Topic Starter

Beginner

Building a PC out...
    « on: January 14, 2008, 11:39:48 PM »
    ..of old parts..CPU-Intel Celeron 1Ghz tualatin,Motherboard-ATX CM 33 TL SKT 37O DFI...I am considering putting on Linux Ubuntu..I am wondering will it work with this PC? And once i have everything hooked up,i just put in the CD and follow instructions,leading to having Ubuntu as my OS??
    I am new to all of this,and i love that Linux is free,is it very good? I only use the PC for surfing the web,online schooling,and music...Will i benefit from using Linux,and if so what benefits?....I have heard it is faster than XP,more stable etc,uses less space etc is all of this true? Do any of you know of any links telling of Ubuntu's benefits over XP??
    Thanks
    « Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 12:54:23 AM by Dave666 »

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
      • Me
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Building a PC out...
    « Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 05:42:06 AM »
    Yes, on all counts.

The biggest drawback is that you won't be able to run Windows-only games on your new machine.  Apart from that, it's just better.  ;)

It's also harder, but post again if you get stuck.

Harder is better: the more you "pay" for something, the more you appreciate it.
    Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

michaewlewis

Intermediate
      • Yes
      • Yes
    « Reply #2 on: January 15, 2008, 07:28:00 AM »

Dave666

Topic Starter

Beginner

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2008, 09:08:45 PM »
      Yes, on all counts.

The biggest drawback is that you won't be able to run Windows-only games on your new machine.  Apart from that, it's just better.  ;)

It's also harder, but post again if you get stuck.