Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: What do you use for folding?  (Read 15987 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
What do you use for folding?
« on: March 13, 2009, 05:55:34 AM »
I am currently using a q6600 2.4ghz , ati 4870, and a old 478 p4 2.2ghz
What are you folding on?

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 06:25:05 AM »
Currently, I'm folding on:
Nvidia 8800GT (my computer, usually runs 1-10 hours per day)
AMD Athlon 3200+ (family's computer, usually runs 3-5 hours per day)
One core of Athlon X2 3800+ (friend's computer, usually runs 3-4 hours per day)

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2009, 03:34:01 PM »
My friends wont fold for me... Not fair!

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2009, 11:09:03 PM »
I have:

E7400 @ 2.8GHz Unicore running most of the day
2.5GHz Celeron 3-4 hours a day
Athlon XP 2200+ 3-4 hours a day
And school computer (2.4GHz Celeron) once or twice a week for an hour

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 09:29:42 AM »
My friends wont fold for me... Not fair!
I said "friend" not "friends".  None of my other friends do, but then again none of my other friends' computers would probably finish any work units.

Zylstra

  • Moderator


  • Hacker

  • The Techinator!
  • Thanked: 45
    • Yes
    • Technology News and Information
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2009, 09:07:40 AM »
<Comedy Zylstra>I usually just stick it on top of the washing machine, and use a three pinch technique to fold.</crappy jokes>

I use my server, the one I talk about all the time... 700MHz PIII? Something like that.

I know it never uses all the CPU power though... not as much as it should, but, thats fine, there needs to be idle room for web requests, and now one of my friends has made me into an SSH Hosting service. If I had the bandwidth, I would do more hosting like this...

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 01:30:23 PM »
lol....

It appears that admin uses the following
Intel Core 2 Duo
Intel Pentium III x 2
Few older systems, however they're kept offline mostly now
PS3

Computer Hope Admin

  • Administrator


  • Prodigy

    Thanked: 242
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2009, 02:29:56 PM »
Intel Core 2 Duo
Intel Pentium III x 2
Few older systems, however they're kept offline mostly now
PS3
Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.
-Albert Einstein

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2009, 02:32:49 PM »
Thats what I just said lol

Computer Hope Admin

  • Administrator


  • Prodigy

    Thanked: 242
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2009, 02:34:24 PM »
 ;D
Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.
-Albert Einstein

Zylstra

  • Moderator


  • Hacker

  • The Techinator!
  • Thanked: 45
    • Yes
    • Technology News and Information
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2009, 08:01:43 PM »
I had wondered about the FAH PS2... I'm not a video game person, I'm a:
'Sit on my *censored*, make an imprint in chair, while replying to various topics on a forum'  person.


I still have a PS2 though... we use it mainly as a DVD player here.

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2009, 03:31:32 AM »
Won't work on a PS2, unfortunately.
I spent a fair amount of time looking into this myself, as I have a PS2 I never use.
It would require a lot of work to develop a client for the PS2's specialised processor though, for relatively little gain.  Look at the PS3 - it uses a lot of power, for not so many points/units.  PS2 uses a lot less power, but is also a lot less powerful.

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2009, 01:28:26 PM »
I have a PS2 that I dont use too! Besides the occasional guitar hero

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2009, 01:45:31 AM »
Yeah I do too, but it is a slim, and AFAIK, there is no way to mod those with a HDD and PS2Loader software anyway.

though thinking about it the older ps2s can run linux, right?

why not try run the linux [email protected] on it?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2009, 04:52:58 AM by Kurtiskain »

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2009, 05:28:41 PM »
Mine is a slim too.  You can run linux on a ps2 slim?

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2009, 10:10:20 PM »
Sorry, I meant you can run linux on a PS2 normal, because you can add a hard drive in the back, using the network expansion card.

and you use a 'magic' memory card to boot the HDD loader, and run linux off the HDD.

I know this because my friend had one, before his PS2 stopped working.

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2009, 02:52:20 AM »
Yeah I do too, but it is a slim, and AFAIK, there is no way to mod those with a HDD and PS2Loader software anyway.
AFAIK that's right.

Quote
though thinking about it it does run linux, right?
Wasn't aware of that.

Quote
why not try run the linux [email protected] on it?
Could be worth a shot, but I doubt it would work as the processor architecture is totally different.

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2009, 02:55:37 AM »
The last this site was updated was in '07, but could be worth a shot if you have an old PS2 and want to give it a try

http://playstation2-linux.com/

EDIT: More links on it

http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-23298.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_for_PlayStation_2

And if you are interested further...Google :)

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2009, 04:45:06 AM »
Disregard my above post please ... I didn't see your last post Kurtis.
I know you can run Linux on a PS2, I thought your comment meant any PS2 came with Linux, which confused me.
Sorry for the confusion.

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2009, 04:52:15 AM »
Ahh yes I see where that came from, sorry about that, ill edit it to make more sence

Zylstra

  • Moderator


  • Hacker

  • The Techinator!
  • Thanked: 45
    • Yes
    • Technology News and Information
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2009, 09:04:50 PM »
I have to ask,

Why would you want to run Linux on a PlayStation 2?

It wouldent be bad if you could attach a hard drive, and keyboard and mouse... and actually use it as a computer, but, for anything else?

Then again, I'm not a gamer, and thus, I see no real point for a game console... when I do game, it tends to be on an original NES. I like A, B, Start, Select, Up down left and right.,

Computer Hope Admin

  • Administrator


  • Prodigy

    Thanked: 242
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2009, 10:12:19 PM »
I'd imagine the PS2 is a lot like PS3, which has USB ports and allows you to connect a keyboard to it. So technically would just be like a computer. Probably could use a flash drive for a HDD too (I'd guess).

Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.
-Albert Einstein

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2009, 10:16:43 PM »
Quote
It wouldent be bad if you could attach a hard drive, and keyboard and mouse... and actually use it as a computer

That is exactly what you do.

On the back of the NIC adapter for the old PS2s, there is a IDE adapter there for a IDE HDD.

My friend had one with a 160GB HDD in it, and he ran his games from there to avoid disk damage/wear.

He never tried linux, but from hat I know of it, you can run firefox, thunderbird, all your normal linux applications.

And yes, you can attach a keyboard + mouse using the front 2 USB ports

There were actually a few games....um I think Battlefield 1942 on the PS2 that allowed you to use a USB KB + mouse to play instead of he controller :)

EDIT: quote from the PS boards:

Quote
Well off the top of my head the following games use the USB Keyboard/Mouse..
 
Deus Ex
Half-Life
Soldier of Fortune
Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force
Final Fantasy XI
EverQuest

Zylstra

  • Moderator


  • Hacker

  • The Techinator!
  • Thanked: 45
    • Yes
    • Technology News and Information
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2009, 11:11:30 PM »
hmm...

How fast do PS2's run? ...this could be my new computer, or is it worthwhile?

Computer Hope Admin

  • Administrator


  • Prodigy

    Thanked: 242
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2009, 11:24:13 PM »
Honestly nothing that stunning and probably not worth it today. There are a lot cheaper computers that can be bought that can beat this.

From Wikipedia:

CPU: 64-bit[3][4] "Emotion Engine" clocked at 294.912 MHz (299 MHz on newer versions), 10.5 million transistors
System Memory: 32 MB(32  220 bytes) Direct Rambus or RDRAM
Memory bus Bandwidth: 3.2 gigabytes per second

Just get a cheap barebone mini system instead of that.

Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.
-Albert Einstein

Zylstra

  • Moderator


  • Hacker

  • The Techinator!
  • Thanked: 45
    • Yes
    • Technology News and Information
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Guru
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2009, 02:13:59 AM »
I've been considering investing in another computer, just for random use... and to get familiar with Linux desktop again... I'm having problems determining if its worthwhile, money is tight on my budget..

Kurtiskain



    Mentor

    Thanked: 58
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 10
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2009, 02:58:10 AM »
It depends if you are wanting to go brand new... Here in NZ we can get used P4 systems for about 150NZ dollars...around $70 US

Calum

  • Moderator


  • Egghead

    Thanked: 238
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Other
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #27 on: May 22, 2009, 02:59:34 AM »
Epic two month bump ...
I'm folding on both cores of my E8200 (have been for a while, 2 uniprocessor clients because the SMP doesn't like me) and have added my server's E2160 running 24/7.
This week I'm reformatting again, after which I'll try to get my E8200 running the SMP client.  I may also try and clock both my main rig and my server's processors up a little, I have a new board to test which may clock my E8200 better.
My main rig is now running a lot more of the time too, more like 10-20 hours instead of 4-10.

I can't promise anything will come of this, but we'll see.

computeruler

    Topic Starter


    Egghead

    Thanked: 63
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced
  • OS: Mac OS
Re: What do you use for folding?
« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2009, 01:35:47 PM »
I am folding on a p4 2.2 now  :-[ :(

unlovedwarrior



    Guru

  • someday this name will be known
  • Thanked: 13
    Re: What do you use for folding?
    « Reply #29 on: May 27, 2009, 12:30:20 AM »
    SMP client intel duo 3.00 ghz E6850
    gpu gforce 8600 GTS
    apple running windows xp intel 2.4 ghz

    main computer on 24/7 365
    apple laptop on random times

    BC_Programmer


      Mastermind
    • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
    • Thanked: 1100
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • BC-Programming.com
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Beginner
    • OS: Windows 8
    Re: What do you use for folding?
    « Reply #30 on: May 27, 2009, 01:50:59 AM »
    Folding on my 64-bit 2Ghz Dual Core laptop.
    I was trying to dereference Null Pointers before it was cool.