Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Nothing Seems To Work (Spyware Problem)  (Read 13783 times)

Bill Latif

Nothing Seems To Work (Spyware Problem)
« on: October 22, 2005, 11:57:10 AM »
First of all i have limited computer knowledge so i would appreciate your patience and apoligise if i am leaving some information out or overlooking a simple answer.

couple days ago i stupidly downloaded a program, unzipped it and doubleclicked on the .exe file. as soon as that happened i realised this is untrustworthy and deleted it but too late.
what i found is new items on my desktop (free wallpapers etc) and my firefox browser kept redirecting the page im currently looking at to an advertisement. not only that decreases the size of my browser. so every couple of minutes im finding myself pushing the back button and maximising the browser again.

ive tried scanning with the following programs:
norton
AVG
ad-aware
Ewido
search and destroy
ive also uninstalled norton and downloaded kaspersky on the advice of a friend. now im using kaspersky for my virus protection.

all of these programs have found many dangerous files on my harddrive and after cleaning them up the problem still persists. firefox is still directing me away and popping up all these ads.

the other thing i tried is deleting suspicious files from my c: and my c:/windows.

im working on windows xp home edition

i hope someones got an answer cos it seems like ive asked so many people and whatever program they suggest ive tried it...

Thanks a million

bill latif

Re: Nothing Seems To Work (Spyware Problem)
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2005, 12:22:51 PM »
actually since ive posted that message, ive realised it hasnt happened for a while.

i dont think ive been redirected for the past 15-30 minutes.