Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Vertical stripes  (Read 5432 times)

Mattyj9

Vertical stripes
« on: October 15, 2005, 09:03:46 PM »
Hi,
I am brand new here so please be gentle  :)

I'm not sure what section to post my question in- so I'll try here. If it's the wrong place I apologize.  Also- I am not very computer literate... :(

I was in the middle of playing a game tonight (City of Villians beta) and my screen locked up and turned into a bunch of vertical, colored stripes. I shut it down, assuming it was a game glitch- this is beta after all...anyway, when i turned my computer back on it booted up ok and then when it got to my desktop screen it started with the vertical stripes again. I restarted several times - each with the same result.  I am able to use the computer, but the screen is distorted and stripey.

I have limited knowledge as stated before - but is it a problem with my graphics card? the drivers? am I way off here?

I don't know what info to give .. so:
it's a Sony Vaio PCV-RZ 40C1b
ATI Radeon 9800 graphic

...what else should I tell you?

Any help would be very much appreciated...

Thank you very much :)

GX1_Man

Re: Vertical stripes
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2005, 09:20:23 PM »
Don't go too crazy trying to fix a problem with their BETA product. Let them know or see if that is a known issue.

you may spend a lot of time and effort trying in vain to fix something that is their issue (and may already have been fixed by the final release).

Other than that, how's the game?  :o :o :o :o
« Last Edit: October 15, 2005, 09:21:15 PM by GX1_Man »

Mattyj9

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2005, 09:32:32 PM »
Wow- quick response- thank you  :)