Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Video & audio installation problems under W98SE  (Read 9176 times)

Pensionada

Topic Starter

Beginner
    Video & audio installation problems under W98SE
    « on: January 14, 2006, 05:03:08 AM »
    I work as a volunteer for an organisation that helps elderly people work with computers. Most of these people have old, old, old computers and very little money. Our organization has a small number of old computers for teaching purposes that are mostly donated after having been used for 3-5 years

For our own organization (see above) I have assembled a Compaq Deskpro; basically extended the mory and put a new hard disc in. Otherwise the system is a standard Compaq Deskpro EN2/P800/SFF. There is no separate video card, nor a separate audio card (all embedded in the motherboard).

On the "new" disc (it came from another system that was total-loss otherwise), I have partitioned for 2 operating systems and data.
    Then, I installed Windows 98SE and XP on separate partitions as multi-boot system. All went fine and the system runs smoothly with both operating systems.
    HOWEVER, I have 2 problems under W98SE that do not occur under XP:

1. The video under 98SE only gives VGA output; I cannot change it under control panel >display >settings. However, the video hw itself is OK because under XP the system system happily runs at 1024*768 & 24 colours.

2. I cannot install the audio system, there does not seem to be an appropriate driver on my W98SE disc. I have installed the complete software from Compaq (SP27532) but it does not install the audio part. I would assume that the chip would have a problem if not for the fact that it works under XP: the sound is not very good, but hey ...
    The system lists the audio as PCI Multimedia Audio device. During installation it cannot find a pnp vxd file.

Any suggestions?
    Rob

Computer Hope Admin