How to change the visibility of a YouTube video

Updated: 06/30/2020 by Computer Hope
YouTube video visibility

YouTube videos, when published, are visible to the entire world by default. However, there are three video visibility options: Public (default), Unlisted (only viewable by those with a link), and Private (only visible to the creator).

Below are steps for changing an uploaded video to one of these three visibility settings.

How to change the visibility

  1. Go to the YouTube website, and click YouTube sign in button in the upper-right corner (if you're not already signed in to your YouTube account).
  2. In the upper-right corner of the screen, click your profile image.

YouTube profile icon

  1. In the menu, click YouTube Studio.

YouTube Studio selector

  1. On the left side of the screen, click the Videos tab.

YouTube Studio Videos selector.

  1. In the Uploads section, locate the video that you want to change its visibility.
  2. Under the Visibility tab in the center of the screen, click the small arrow to access the drop-down menu.
  3. Visibility drop-down menu.

  1. Select the Private, Public, or Unlisted option.
  2. Visibility drop-down menu.

  1. Select Publish to save your visibility changes.
Tip

If you want to delete your video from your account entirely, see: How to delete a YouTube video.