How can I clear my browsing history on exit?

Updated: 01/24/2018 by Computer Hope
Internet browsers

Following the steps in this document causes your Internet browser to delete history upon exiting. Although this may help protect your privacy, it should be noted that it slightly slows down your overall Internet experience because clearing history also deletes cached files and cookies. See our how to clear your Internet browser history page for steps on deleting this data only one time.

Microsoft Edge

Chrome

If you are using Microsoft Edge, follow these steps.

  1. Open Microsoft Windows.
  2. Press the Windows key and type Internet Options in the field that appears.
  3. In the Internet Properties window that opens, make sure the General tab is selected.
  4. Under the Browsing history section, check the box next to Delete browsing history on exit.
  5. At the bottom of the window, click Apply and, then OK.

Microsoft Internet Explorer users

Internet Explorer

If you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer, follow these steps.

  1. Open the Microsoft Internet Explorer browser.
  2. Click Tools IE Tools Icon in the upper-right corner.
  3. Select Internet Options from the drop-down menu.
  4. Under the General tab, look for the Browsing history section.
  5. Check the box next to Delete browsing history on exit.
  6. Click Apply then OK.

Mozilla Firefox users

Firefox

If you are using Firefox, follow these steps.

  1. Open the Mozilla Firefox browser.
  2. Click Menu Firefox Menu in the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Options button.
  4. Select the Privacy tab.
  5. In the History section, click the down arrow next to the box that says Firefox will: and select Never remember history.
  6. Click OK twice.

Safari users

Safari

Unfortunately, the Safari browser does not have a clear history on exit setting. The best solution is to clear your browsing history then enable a setting that keeps the browser from storing it in the first place. The downside to this option is that privacy mode must be turned on each time a user opens the browser. For steps on entering private browsing, see the Safari section on our incognito mode page.

Opera users

Opera

Unfortunately, the Opera browser does not have a clear history on exit setting. The best solution is to clear your browsing history then enable a setting that keeps the browser from storing it in the first place. The downside to this option is that privacy mode must be turned on each time a user opens the browser. For steps on entering private browsing, see the Opera section on our incognito mode page.

Additional information